Puppy Nightmares

I got my beautiful puppy over a month a go now. He is still beautiful, quite a lot bigger, but he can be a devil. 

Having your first puppy is like taking care of your annoying 3 years old nephew who you hardly see… but for a month… with no help. He needs you for EVERYTHING. 

He cannot be left unattended for long, or you’ll come back to him choking on something or playing with something he shouldn’t. You literally have to monitor them every time of the day. Oh, and when it comes to bedtime, they don’t want to go to bed, they want to play and scream and run around. It took me over an hour to settle my puppy down. 

Because of this, you suffer from sleep deprivation. Which makes you cranky, which means everything annoys you even more than it should. 

Oh, did I mention the fact that if you go for a pee they follow you and wait outside the toilet. There is no longer such a thing as privacy or alone time. Nope. Every second is spent with them. To the point where I couldn’t have a shower for nearly 6 days! When I finally got a shower, I had to rush so I want away for long. I couldn’t even enjoy the alone time because I was rushing!

I haven’t worn make up since I got him. If you know me at all, you will know that I love wearing makeup and creating different looks. But, I never have the time with a puppy demanding me all the time. 

I felt drained mat of the time and had a headache all the time.

After over a month of that, he is now quite well trained and can be left alone happily. He doesn’t get scared I’ll leave him, because he knows I will always come back. He doesn’t follow me to the toilet, thanks to a baby gate. I can do things without him wanting attention and he doesn’t chew things as much. 

Considering this was only 5 weeks of what felt like pure hell.. I cannot imagine what it feels like to be a parent. I now don’t even know if I want to find out… 👀

Leave a Reply

